About me

a few things about me

First, two things:
1. It’s not my fault.
2. I can’t help it.

I am a man, born on November 1st, 1950 in Springfield, Missouri. I grew up there and after graduating high school I spent a couple of years in the U.S. Army. It was a long two years and felt like ten. I spent the better part of a year during that time living in a jungle. Don’t ever volunteer for something like that. You’ll be sorry and the experience may make you crazy and then people will consider you to be worthless and of no value and no one will respect your sacrifice of time, body, mind, and spirit.

After having survived the Army, I went to college for a couple of years, spending time trying to figure out what I wanted to do. I never did figure it out and after my two years of college I worked in various American industries up until a few years ago. I now draw veteran’s benefits related to my time in the Army and now I guess you could say I’m sort of living an early retirement.

One of my hobbies is spending a lot of time around my computer. I’ve loved computers ever since they were first available to common people. I’ve become self-educated on computers by reading and doing and although I am not a genius I consider myself fairly knowledgeable about them. I build one for myself every few years. I’ve abandoned Windows operating systems and spend most of my time using Linux. I’ve come to understand it better than Windows and when I was using Windows I seemed to spend a lot of time on it fixing things. Linux just works and keeps on working. Try Ubuntu Linux sometime. It’s great for first-time users. Oh, and it’s free. Really.

Some of my other hobbies are fishing, reading, and I like to go for drives exploring and learning about new places to go locally. The books I read are usually newage type books or science fiction. Or computer stuff. HTML, CSS, things like that.

I don’t follow any organized religion. I know I’m more than my physical body and that’s good enough for me. I can talk to our Creator without any help. Following dogmas and doctrines can make you crazy. Jim Jones or Marshall Applewhite, anybody? If you want to know where my thoughts really are, read some of the books by Robert Monroe or Robert Bruce.

I’m single and have never been married and have no children. I like women, I just can’t seem to keep one around. I have a brother and a sister and many aunts and cousins but they are all in Missouri. I now live in the Rogue Valley in Oregon, in the city of Phoenix and don’t intend to ever return to Missouri. If people want to see me they are welcome to come visit.

It is Paradise, this valley, one of the best places I’ve ever come across and a good place to stay. The climate is mild and generally stays above freezing for most of the Winter. The grass stays green all Winter and a few hardy flowers will bloom all Winter. The Winter is when the rain comes but Summers are dry and temperatures can get to 100 degrees but low humidity means it is tolerable and nights are nearly always nice and cool.

I’ve been alcohol and drug free for 20 years.
I haven’t smoked for a year at the time I am writing this.
I’ve never been in jail or prison.
I have no STDs.
I would like to go more places and do more things but it’s boring doing it alone so I don’t do anything anymore.
I would like to have female companionship but I haven’t yet found the one who can overlook my many faults.
I have no attachments. No ex-wives or girlfriends in the picture.
I am relatively drama-free but neither do I like drama. I like peace.
I don’t like being nagged or people who treat me like I’m worthless.
I am kind of old but think young, some would say to the point of immaturity. I’ll start wearing old man clothes when I am ready and I’m not ready yet.
I am not rich but I have an income thru VA disability benefits. Yes, I am considered disabled but I have my arms and legs and get around ok.
I have depression, anxiety, and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Other than that I’m normal. I guess. I take medication for these things.
I own my car, a 2012 Subaru Forester which is paid for and still has less than 1000 miles on it as I write this.
I own my house. It’s paid for.
I prefer younger women or women who are young at heart. Women my own age would consider me to be immature. One of my faults. Any woman around me would have to be forgiving and tolerant and accept that I’ll act like a big kid at times.
Any woman who could put up with my faults would get kindness and loyalty in return. I’m safe to be around. I won’t hurt you.
Politically I would be considered a left-wing liberal so if you are a fan of the TeaParty or GOP you would not like me.
I would smoke marijuana if it was legal and I have in the past but it’s been 20 years. Putting people in jail or prison because they like to get high is just plain wrong.
Even though I’m a liberal I’m not against guns.
I don’t go to church nor do I intend to. I believe an Intelligence created the Universe but that we’re still a long way from figuring it out. I will follow no dogmas. I’ve experienced evidence that I’ll survive death as a living Spirit and Consciousness and that’s good enough for me.
I’m the loneliest Being in the Universe.

Hmmm, this is starting to sound like a singles ad.

Terry Coats

My email